Floodplain Management


Floodplain management is a community-based effort to prevent or reduce the risk of flooding, resulting in a more resilient community. This is best achieved through land use planning, watershed restoration, and higher design standards.

In 1968, U.S Congress established the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The NFIP provides flood insurance to property owners, renters and businesses located in a designated Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA).


In 1990, the NFIP Community Rating System (CRS) was established. The CRS is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes adopted flood management standards that exceed NFIP requirements.

Walton County participates in the Community Rating System (CRS).

In CRS communities, flood insurance premium rates are discounted to reflect the reduced flood risk from the community’s efforts that address three main goals:

1. Reduce and avoid flood damage to insurable property

2. Strengthen and support the NFIP

3. Foster comprehensive floodplain management

Beginning October 1, 2018 – Walton County holds a Class 6 CRS rating. This classification provides a 20% discount on new or renewing flood insurance policies for all SFHA properties.


South Walton County Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) became effective December 30, 2020.

For information on where your property may be located within the SFHA, please visit the FEMA Map Portal.

The Floodplain Manager is also available to provide map determinations and answer any questions pertaining to the designated Special Flood Hazard Area. You may submit a “Request for Flood Zone Information” form through the Citizenserve portal.


NOAA Southeast River Forecast

NFIP and the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2014

Northwest Florida Water Management District Flood Portal

NFIP Technical Flood Design Bulletins