Flood Plain Management


The U.S. Congress established the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) with the passage of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968. The U.S. Congress then passed the NFIP Reform Act of 2012, to make a number of changes to the way the NFIP is run. As the law is implemented, some of these changes have already occurred, and others will be implemented in the coming months. The Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012 Fact Sheet identifies the specific sections of the legislation that have been change.

Walton County is responsible for verifying compliance with the NFIP through the following:

* Maintaining our Flood Prevention Ordinance
* Reviewing development orders
* Inspecting buildings for compliance
* Reviewing Substantial Damage and Improvement Projects
* Being involved in any watercourse alterations
* Participating in variance requests
* Actively participating with FEMA regarding Map Changes
* Public Outreach Projects

The Floodplain Manager is available to provide map determinations, and answer any questions pertaining to Areas of Special Flood Hazard within Walton County.
The current Flood Prevention Ordinance is 2014-05.
Click here for the 2018 Local Flood Information Guide.


Check flood stages for local rivers here:

NOAA River Flooding Map.


Community Rating System Class 5
Beginning on October 1, 2016 Walton County holds a Class 5 CRS rating. This classification equates to a 25% discount on new or renewing flood insurance policies for all SFHA properties.

Coastal Study
Walton County is currently undergoing a Coastal Study that will provide better modeling and data for the Walton County Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM). The previous study dates back to the 1980’s, and may not reflect the current conditions of Walton County’s coastline and topography. Northwest Florida Water Management District is working in conjunction with URS, Dewberry, UCF, and FEMA to complete the study. For more information on the Coastal Study please visit the Northwest Florida Water Management District (NWFWMD) Flood Information Portal to preview these changes.

FEMA's REVISED Elevation Certificate (EC) was approved for use, effective June 13,2016 through November 30, 2018.
Walton County's current Flood Insurance Rate Map was adopted by FEMA effective September 29, 2010. Development Orders and Building permits submitted on or after September 29, 2010 will need to meet the elevations of this map.

Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012
In July 2012, the U.S. Congress passed the Biggert-Waters Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012 (BW-12) which calls on the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and other agencies, to make a number of changes to the way the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is run. Some of these changes already have occurred, and others will be implemented in the coming months. Key provisions of the legislation will require the NFIP to raise rates to reflect true flood risk, make the program more financially stable, and change how Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) updates impact policyholders. The changes will mean premium rate increases for some—but not all—policyholders over time. Homeowners and business owners are encouraged to learn their flood risk and talk to their insurance agent to determine if their policy will be affected by BW-12.

BW-12 Quick Reference Guide September 2013

The Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2014

Homeowner Flood Insurance Affordability Act of 2014

Impact of National Flood Insurance (NFIP) Changes Read this document to learn about Grandfathering Changes; What Can Be Done to Lower Costs; Changes in NFIP Subsidies, etc.