Rural Areas of Economic Opportunity

Let's work together in Rural Walton County

State Definition of Rural Opportunity Area

The following economically distressed counties with a population of 75,000 or less, or a county with a population of 125,000 or less which is contiguous to a county with a population of 75,000 or less.

Qualified counties:
Baker, Bradford, Calhoun, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Glades, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Nassau, Okeechobee, Putnam, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Wakulla, Washington and Walton.

Florida Statute Related to RAEO

Florida Statute Related to Public/Private Partnerships

Florida's Rural County Opportunities

Florida’s rural regions offer a world of opportunity for your business. They’re far enough away to give you the open space you want, but just an hour’s drive from the urban access you need. And with a seemingly endless supply of affordable land, robust pool of trainable talent, top-ranked, accessible infrastructure and enviable quality of life, you’ll be able to build more than a business here. You can build a future.

Opportunity Florida

Opportunity Florida

We are an economic development organization made up of ten rural counties in the heart of Northwest Florida. The ten counties are Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Liberty, North Walton, Wakulla and Washington. We work with the counties, cities therein and the various local economic development organizations to market the many resources offered by this region.

Based on its commitment to regional unity, Opportunity Florida promotes positive economic growth in this ten county region by providing technical assistance to economic development organizations and businesses and by working together with local, regional and state organizations to market the region to businesses and government officials.

Rural Economic Opportunity Areas