Business and Economic Development

Business, Community & Education Partners

                                                                      Walton County Cities

DeFuniak Springs                                  Freeport                                  Paxton                                                       

Walton County EDA
The Walton County Economic Development Alliance was created in the 1990's to spearhead the diversification of the County's economy, attract new investments to the region and create incremental jobs. We aim to provide local and prospective businesses with the tools and resources they need to achieve success.

Through partnerships with area organizations, we facilitate growth and expansion by supporting current and new businesses. Our goal is to develop a vibrant local economy, grow quality jobs and ensure national and global demand for Walton County resources.
  1. Local
  1. Walton County Chamber
  2. CareerSource
  3. DeFuniak Springs Pro. Assoc.
  4. Main Street DeFuniak Springs
Walton Chamber

Our Vision:  To be the area's leading voice of business.

Our Mission:  Be the driving force to promote, develop and advocate for successful businesses in the community.

Our Core Values
  • Excellence – We will strive to achieve excellence in all that we do.
  • Integrity - We will operate honestly and ethically, doing the right thing even when no one is watching.
  • Innovation – We will be forward-thinking with the willingness to change and act with diversity in both thought and function.
  1. State
  1. Emerald Coast Regional Partners
  2. Enterprise Florida
  3. Florida Assoc. of Counties
  4. Florida DEO
  5. Florida's Great Northwest
  6. Florida Chamber of Commerce
  7. Small Business Development Center

EC Regional Council Opens in new windowEmerald Coast Regional Council is one of ten regional planning councils in the state of Florida. ECRC supports northwest Florida by planning for and coordinating intergovernmental solutions to growth-related problems, providing technical assistance to local governments, and meeting the needs of the municipalities in our seven-county region: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Bay, Washington, and Holmes.

  1. Federal
  1. National Assoc. of Counties
  2. US Dept. of Agriculture
  3. US Dept. of Economic Development
  4. HUD

Counties are responsible for providing core services such as human services, criminal justice, public welfare and infrastructure to communities of all sizes across America.

The conditions of a county economy can constrain and challenge county governments, residents and businesses, while also providing opportunities.

To ensure the delivery of essential services, support job growth and maintain a healthy revenue base, counties invest in community and economic development activities in a number of ways.

Counties most typically focus on workforce training, business attraction and retention and regional marketing in their economic development partnerships.  Collaboration is the key to successful county economic development initiatives.

  1. Education
  1. Walton County School District
  2. Emerald Coast Technical College
  3. Northwest Florida State College
  4. Seaside Schools

Walton County School District

Walton County School District (WCSD) is committed to excellence in education. All WCSD public schools are accredited by AdvancED, which is a national accrediting organization formed through a partnership of regional accrediting agencies, including SACS CASI.   The district is among the top performing school districts in the state.

WCSD has six elementary, three middle, three high schools, one K - 12 school, two alternative education schools, three charter schools, and a career development center school.